In a historic first, YSRCP names commoners as ‘star campaigners’ for 2024 elections in AP

The party's unconventional approach stands in stark contrast to the prevailing trend of relying on celebrities, film stars, and influencers for election campaigns.

BySouth First Desk

Published Apr 30, 2024 | 11:47 PMUpdatedApr 30, 2024 | 11:48 PM

YS Jagan during campaigning

In a groundbreaking move, YSRCP has shattered political conventions by appointing the common people of Andhra Pradesh as its star campaigners for the upcoming Lok Sabha and Assembly elections.

The party’s unconventional approach is in stark contrast to the prevailing trend of relying on celebrities, film stars, and influencers for election campaigns.

This unprecedented decision was announced by Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and YSRCP President Jagan Mohan Reddy on Tuesday, 30 April. “My true star campaigners are the people of Andhra Pradesh,” he said.

YSRCP has submitted a list of 12 people (commoners), representing diverse backgrounds and professions, to the Election Commission, designating them as YSRCP’s official ‘Star Campaigners’ for the upcoming polls.

Also Read: Welfare schemes will continue only if I return as chief minister: CM Jagan 

‘Every person a star campaigner’

The party has also said that these 12 people will represent each and every one of the approximate five crore people of the state. These campaigners include four homemakers, two farmers, an auto driver, a tailor, and four former government volunteers.

According to YSRCP, every person of the state is their “Star Campaigner.” “These individuals, hailing from humble backgrounds, will campaign for the party on ground and help propagate Jagan Mohan Reddy’s message till the last mile”, the party said.

Even before the launch of the ‘Siddham’ campaign, Chief Minister Jagan had said, ‘My true star campaigners are the people of Andhra Pradesh, and I don’t want anyone else,’ slamming the Opposition for trying to get as many film stars and influencers on board to campaign for them.

During his visits to different constituencies as part of the ‘Siddham’ and ‘Memantha Siddham’ campaigns, the chief minister sought blessings from beneficiaries, whom he referred to as his “Star Campaigners.”

CM Jagan has consistently emphasized that those who have benefited from his governance should help propagate the message of good governance, ensuring the YSRCP’s return to power for the continuity of welfare schemes.

Also Read: YSRCP chief Jagan releases manifesto with strong welfare flavour

List of Star Campaigners 

The commoners who will be joining CM Jagan as Star Campaigners include:

Botsa Satyanarayana, Dharmana Prasada Rao, Md. Abdul Hafeez Khan, K Bhagyalakshmi, Golla Babu Rao, Dr Ummareddy Venkateshwarlu, Malladi Vishnu, Pilli Subash chandra Bose, Mopidevi Venkataramana, Beeda Masthan Rao, V Khadar Basha, Kumbha Ravi Babu, R. Krishnaiah, Posani Krishna Murali, Vasrireddy Padma, Sajjala Ramkrishna Reddy, YV Subba Reddy, V. Vijaysai Reddy, and Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy.

The list also includes Maddali Giri, Ravela Kishore Babu, Zakia Khanam, SM Ziauddin, Sidda Raghava Rao, Gangu Kalyani, Sheik Sandani, Orekanti Janardhan Reddy, Dajappagari Janapa Rupani, Chelle Paramjyoti, Pandalaneni Sivaprasad, Katta Jagadish, Krishnam Ramakrishna, Gollapalli Srinu, Syed Anwar, Arushabhattu Anantha Lakshmi and Challa Eswari.

Also Read: Will welfare mantra do the trick for YS Jagan Mohan Reddy in AP this time?

Details of commoners

Here are some details about these star campaigners.

Pandalaneni Sivaprasad, from Avanigadda Constituency, Krishna District, hails from a simple family of farmers. His eldest son, Krishna Kishore, received crucial financial support through YSRCP’s foreign education welfare scheme (Jagananna Videshi Deevena), enabling him to pursue higher education at Columbia University, US.

Grateful for the opportunities provided by the YSRCP government, Sivaprasad decided to be CM Jagan’s star campaigner, strongly believing that CM Jagan should return to power due to his government’s pro-poor policies.

Katari Jagadish, from Anakapalli Constituency, Anakapalli District, runs a small roadside shop sewing seat covers for two-wheelers. Through schemes like Jagananna Vidya Deevena and Jagananna Vasati Deevena, his children received quality education and accommodation support.

The family’s standard of living improved significantly with assistance from the YSR Cheyutha Scheme and a house in Jagananna Colony, with Jagadish also receiving a backward community-specific pension (tanner). His decision to campaign for the chief minister stems from the life-changing impact of the YSRCP government’s transformative policies for the underprivileged.

Anantha Lakshmi, from Rajahmundry City Constituency, East Godavari District, supports her family with the help of income from a clothing shop in her village. Through initiatives like Jagananna Chedodu and Navaratnalu, her family saw significant with a stable income. Inspired by these changes, Anantha Lakshmi decided to support CM Jagan’s mission to uplift the poor by being a star campaigner for him.

Syed Anwar, hailing from Nellore Rural, Nellore District, lauded CM Jagan’s transformative reforms in government schools. He highlighted the significant impact of English medium education, digital classrooms, and improved facilities on thousands of students, boosting their confidence.

Anwar decided to be the chief minister’s star campaigner, pledging to visit over 100 households to share his message, recognising his pivotal role in shaping Andhra Pradesh’s future through investments in human capital.

Challa Eswari, hailing from Mylavaram Constituency, NTR District, worked as a YSRCP Government volunteer overseeing 50 households. She witnessed firsthand the positive impact of Navaratnalu schemes on families, and lauded the chief minister’s commitment to uplifting the poor and empowering women. Eswari, a believer in Jagan’s vision, decided to be his star campaigner as she believes that he runs a people-centred government, where the underprivileged are prioritised.

(Edited by Shauqueen Mizaj)