As poll heat rises in Andhra Pradesh, Jagan rejigs leaders in party positions

The new changes came even as Jagan has been weighing several options and assessing the prevailing ground situation.

BySNV Sudhir

Published Nov 25, 2022 | 1:06 AM Updated Nov 25, 2022 | 1:07 AM

YS Jagan Mohan Reddy

Barely seven months into appointing presidents of district units of the YSRCP, party chief and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy changed at least eight of them late on Wednesday, 24 November.

Two top aides of Jagan — Finance Minister Buggana Rajendranath and government advisor Sajjala Ramakrishna Reddy — were also relieved from their posts as regional coordinators.

Two former ministers — P Anil Kumar and Kodali Sri Venkateswara Rao, also known as Kodali Nani — were also removed as regional coordinators.

The new changes came even as Jagan has been weighing several options and assessing the prevailing ground situation.

Sources in the ruling party told South First that while Jagan was unhappy with the performance of some presidents, a few of them were relieved as they were entrusted with other party work.

Andhra finance minister Buggana Rajendranath

Buggana Rajendranath.

Sajjala Ramakrishna Reddy and Buggana Rajendranath were either already burdened with other party-related work, or have now been given some other backstage work of the party, said the sources.

Former ministers Pamula Pushpasrivani, Muttamsetty Srinivas, and Mekathoti Sucharitha, MLAs Burra Madhusudhan Yadav, Kapu Ramachandra Reddy, Y Balanagi Reddy, and Chevireddy Bhaskar Reddy, and MLC Bharath were also replaced as district presidents.

Bharath, who was entrusted with Kuppam’s responsibility, was appointed the president of the Chittoor unit of the party.

Jagan, who has been putting special focus on Kuppam, a bastion of TDP supremo N Chandrababu Naidu, didn’t want to take a chance and relieved Bharath of his district job as he was unable to dedicate time and resources optimally in Kuppam.

Jagan also brought in Rajya Sabha members Alla Ayodhyarami Reddy and Beeda Mastan Rao as regional coordinators in place of those who were relieved. He also allocated some districts to different regional coordinators.

It is worth mentioning here that Jagan, in one of the workshops held a few months ago, expressed displeasure over the performance and participation of some MLAs and ministers in the ongoing outreach programme Gadapa Gadapa Ki Mana Prabhuthvam.

He also cautioned them that he would not hesitate to replace some of the public representatives.

“A  few of them requested the party president to relieve them as district unit presidents, and he was not happy with some others’ performance. So, only these changes have been made,” said a YSRCP leader.

“Jagan doesn’t want to take any chance that will damage the party’s prospects in the 2024 polls,” added the leader.

The new district presidents are:

  • P Parikshith Raju for Parvathiouram Manyam
  • Panchakarla Ramesh for Visakhapatnam
  • Dokak Manikyavara Prasad for Guntur
  • Janke Venkat Reddy for Prakasam
  • BY Ramaiah for Kurnool
  • Pyla Narasimhaiah for Anantapur
  • Deputy Chief Minister K Narayana Swamy for Chittoor
  • Neduramalli Ramkumar Reddy for Tirupati.