Andhra Pradesh: 24 ministers to be sworn in along with Chandrababu Naidu on Wednesday

The JSP has three ministers and the BJP one in the Chandrababu Naidu Cabinet.

ByRaj Rayasam

Published Jun 12, 2024 | 8:02 AMUpdatedJun 12, 2024 | 1:00 PM

Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP president JP Nadda, reached Vijayawada on Tuesday to attend the swearing-in ceremony. (TDP/X)

TDP supremo N Chandrababu Naidu will take oath as Andhra Pradesh’s chief minister on Wednesday, 12 June.

As many as 24 ministers, including Jana Sena Party (JSP) chief Pawan Kalyan and Naidu’s son Nara Lokesh, will also be sworn in at a ceremony to be held at Kesarapalli IT Park near Gannavaram Airport on Vijayawada outskirts at 11.27 am.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP national president JP Nadda are among the dignitaries who would attend the event. Both leaders have reached Andhra Pradesh.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is also expected to attend the ceremony. He is expected to reach the venue at 10.55 am. Several chief ministers, too, are likely to attend the event in which Naidu will take charge of the bifurcated Andhra Pradesh for a second time.

The TDP has invited a few Amaravati farmers to the ceremony.

Earlier, he was the chief minister from June 2014 to May 2019, before YS Jagan Mohan Reddy replaced him following YSRCP’s landslide victory.

Also Read: Chandrababu Naidu announces Amaravati as sole capital city of Andhra Pradesh

Naidu’s Cabinet

Andhra Pradesh Governor S Abdul Nazeer will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Naidu and 24 others, including TDP Andhra Pradesh leader K Atchannaidu and JSP’s N Manohar.

Kollu Ravindra, Anitha Vangalapudi, Satya Kumar Yadav, Dr Nimmala Ramanaidu, Nasyam Mohammed Farook, Anam Ramnarayana Reddy, Payyavula Keshav, Angani Satya Prasad, Kolusu Parthasarathy, and Dr Dola Bala Veeranjaneya Swamy are among those who will be sworn in as ministers on Wednesday.

Gottipati Rai Kumar, Kandula Durgesh, Gummadi Sandhya Rani, BC Janardhan Reddy, TG BHarat, S Savitha, Vasamsetting Subhash, Kondapalli Srinivas and Mandipalli Ramprasad Reddy, too, will be part of the Naidu Cabinet.

The JSP will have three ministers — Pawan Kalyan, N Manohar, and Durgesh — while Satya Kumar Yadav will be the lone BJP minister.

The state Legislative Assembly, with a total strength of 175 MLAs, can have 26 ministers, including the chief minister.

Also Read: Chandrababu Naidu as CM faces huge challenge to deliver ‘Super Six’ promise

First-time MLAs

Sandhya Rani, Bharath, Savitha, Subhash, Srinivas, Ramprasad Reddy are first-time MLAs from the TDP. JSP’s Pawan Kalyan and
Durgesh, and BJP’s Yadav, too, are first timers.

While 13 of the minister-designates are from other communities, backward and scheduled castes will have seven and two ministers, respectively. Scheduled Tribes and minorities will have a minister each.

The TDP has 135 MLAs in the Assembly, while JSP and BJP has 21 and eight lawmakers, respectively.

(Edited by Majnu Babu).